Traveling and training

If you travel a lot for business like I do, then you know it gets tedious and can become a real obstacle to your training.

One strategy I use in this situation is to research the area I’m traveling to ahead of time to find unique and interesting places to run near my destination.

I always get excited about the opportunity to run in new locales, so having an idea of where I can run and what I might see takes the tediousness out of the trip.

It also helps keep me on track with my training.  I may not run as many miles as if I were home, but by planning ahead I at least get some miles in when I might otherwise get none.

So next time you’re headed out for business, do a little research and explore a new place.  You won’t regret it.

My next post will highlight my favorite travel run location (and it’s in New England)!

Leave a Reply

