26.2 miles of joy

The week of my marathon has finally arrived.

In just two days I will toe the starting line of the Smuttynose Rockfest Marathon in Hampton Beach, NH.  I have put hours of time and hundreds of miles behind me to get to this point.  Now only one question remains.  How will I perform?

Race day performance always seems hit or miss.  Maybe it’s because I don’t run enough races (at $75 + a pop who can?).  Maybe I don’t do enough long tempo runs.  Whatever the case may be, the week prior to a big race leaves me biting my nails in anticipation.  Not literally, but I do perseverate over the issue.

This year, however, I am not going to let that question plague me and will revel in the simple fact that I am able to run in one of the most beautiful corners of the Earth.  I have my goals, but I’m not going to let them get in the way of enjoying a run along NH’s spectacular seacoast during the most splendid of New England’s seasons.

Fall is a great time to be a long distance runner in NH and I’m going to enjoy every minute of it.  Even if I have to sacrifice a potential BQ.

Leave a Reply

